We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Music for koto and sho, female voice, violin and electronics

Tuesday May 31, 2016 at 19:15
The Hellenic Centre, London
Free admission – a ticket is required

Phone for tickets: 020 7563 9835
Book by Email
  1. Oshikicho no choshi, for sho - Traditional Japanese
  2. Tsuru no koe, for koto, accompanied by traditional Japanese dance - Traditional Japanese
  3. Intermezzi II, for solo koto - Misato Mochizuki
  4. Suite for Voice and Violin - Hector Villa-Lobos
  5. The Waves, for female voice and electronics - Charles Dodge
  6. Fantasia No 1 for solo violin in B flat TWV 40:14 - Georg Philipp Telemann
  7. Galaxy, for sho - Toshi Ichiyanagi
  8. Eyes are now dim, for sho, koto, female voice, violin and Chinese gongs - Basil Athanasiadis

The ensemble Shonorities presents music for the Japanese instruments koto (Makiko Goto) and sho (Naomi Sato) together with female voice (Shie Shoji) and violin (Aisha Orazbayeva). The programme, encompasses a colourful and diverse collection of musical styles ranging from the old Japanese tradition and European baroque to music for the 21st century. Featured pieces include traditional Japanese music accompanied by dance and a piece by Telemann played with extended techniques. Also, works for various instrumental combinations including electronics by Toshi Ichiyanagi, Misato Mochizuki, Charles Dodge, Villa Lobos and the premier of a work by Basil Athanasiadis for sho, koto, voice, violin and Chinese gongs composed especially for the occasion. The performance is supported by the Japan Foundation Performing Arts Japan Programme for Europe 2015-16, the Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation, the Japanese Embassy in Greece and the Hellenic Centre.

The Hellenic Centre
16-18 Paddington Street

This advertisement was submitted by Shonorities.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.