We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

On Some Threshold of the Air - The Songs of Viktor Ullmann

Sunday October 14, 2012 at 15:00
Recital Room, Leeds College of Music, Leeds
£8, £5 concessions
Phone for tickets: 0113 222 3434
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Bubikopf's Aria, from The Emperor of Atlantis - Viktor Ullmann
  2. Um Mitternacht, from Spiritual Songs, 'Geistliche Lieder' for high voice and piano Op 20 - Viktor Ullmann
  3. Dreierlei Schutzgeister, from 6 Songs (Steffen) Op 17 - Viktor Ullmann
  4. 5 Lovesongs Op 18 - Viktor Ullmann
    • Am Klavier
    • O schöne Hand
  5. Erste Begegnung, from Spiritual Songs, 'Geistliche Lieder' for high voice and piano Op 20 - Viktor Ullmann
  6. Abendphantasie - Viktor Ullmann
  7. Berjoskele, from 3 Yiddish Songs, 'Brezulinka' Op 53 - Viktor Ullmann

This autumn, English Touring Opera presents an exciting new production of Viktor Ullmann's brilliant opera, The Emperor of Atlantis, which was composed and rehearsed at Terezín concentration camp before the composer was sent to his death at Auschwitz. In this accompanying recital, Paula Sides (soprano) and Jonathan Gale (piano) celebrate Ullmann's life and lesser-known works through a selection of the many songs he wrote throughout his tragically short career.

Originally from Tennessee, Paula Sides studied opera at the Royal College of Music, where she received the Tagore Gold Medal. Jonathan Gale studied music at Cambridge University before studying as a conductor at the St Petersburg Conservatoire and as a repetiteur at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Together they have been finalists in the Young Concert Artists Trust competition at the Wigmore Hall.

Recital Room, Leeds College of Music
3 Quarry Hill
West Yorkshire
This advertisement was submitted by English Touring Opera.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.