We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

City of London Festival - Pinnacle Ensemble

Saturday July 16, 2011 at 18:30
St Vedast-alias-Foster, London
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. Missa Brevis in C, 'Spätzenmesse' (Sparrow Mass) K220 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Jubilate deo - Benjamin Britten
  3. Hear my Prayer - Felix Mendelssohn
  4. Seek Him that Maketh the Seven Stars - Jonathan Dove
  5. For lo, I raise up Op 145 - Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
  6. The Darkness is no Darkness - Judith Bingham
  7. O be joyful in the Lord - Jeremy Filsell

An exciting programme of choral music in the beautiful Wren church of St Vedast-alias-Foster (opposite St Paul's tube). The concert is not only celebrating the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible, which will be reflected in passages set to exciting choral anthems, but will also be incorporated as part of the City of London Festival 2011 and its themes of birds and birdsong.

In keeping with the Festival's themes, The Pinnacle Ensemble will be performing Mozart's "Sparrow Mass" - with orchestra - as the first half of the programme. Written 1775-1776 for performance in Salzburg, the Spatzenmesse is so called on account of the violin figures in many of the movements, which recall the chirping of birds.

The second half of the programme features a collection of choral works focusing on translations of from the King James Bible, which this year celebrates its 400th anniversary. It will include contrasting settings of Psalm 100 (O be Joyful in the Lord) by Britten and contemporary British composer Jeremy Filsell. Also included will be texts set to music by Stanford, Dove and Judith Bingham.

St Vedast-alias-Foster
4 Foster Lane
This advertisement was submitted by Pinnacle Ensemble.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.