We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Brave New World – Sibelius’s Second Symphony | London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday February 4, 2024 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£70 £55 £39 £25 £18, £12/£16 Wildcard tickets, £6 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Om fotspår och ljus (Of Footprints and Light) - UK premiere - Lotta Wennäkoski
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 5 in E flat, 'Emperor' Op 73 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Symphony No 2 in D Op 43 - Jean Sibelius

Bold and unconventional choices are there to be relished in music by Beethoven and Sibelius.

Sibelius compared writing his daring Second Symphony to putting together a broken mosaic. For a listener, it’s only possible to marvel as stunning musical patterns shape themselves out of fragments.

In Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’ Concerto, the piano makes an unexpected hero’s entrance with barely an introduction from the orchestra. But soon there’s a magnificent back and forth between soloist and ensemble, ending in a galloping finale.

Lotta Wennäkoski’s exquisite tone poem Of Footprints and Light quotes from an unfinished opera by the Finnish composer Ida Moberg, who studied with Sibelius.

The landscapes of Sibelius are familiar territory for Thomas Søndergård, and the LSO summons fresh air and sunshine. Leif Ove Andsnes brings immaculate style to Beethoven’s best loved piano concerto.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.