We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Sunday Piano Series: Hanni Liang

Sunday March 17, 2024 at 11:00
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am-8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. 6 Klavierstücke Op 118 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Images for piano (Book 1, 1905) L 110 - Claude Debussy
  3. Piano Sonata No 2 - Dame Ethel Smyth

German pianist Hanni Liang is a researcher and lecturer who’s passionate about exploring the future of classical concert life and promoting a sustainable future. Her recital begins with one of Brahms’s final works, written for Clara Schumann and full of yearning and beauty. Written shortly after his orchestral masterpiece, La Mer, Debussy’s Images showcase his unique Impressionist style, representing colours in sound from the reflections of light on water to a stately Sarabande. Dame Ethel Smyth was a student in Leipzig, meeting composers such as Dvorák and Grieg, when she composed her early 2nd Sonata. Described by her as programme music, it was also partly inspired by her fascination with the actress Marie Geistinger.

Ticket price includes tea, coffee and cake before or after the concert.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.