We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Sunday Piano Series: Yu Kosuge

Sunday December 17, 2023 at 11:00
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am-8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fantasy in F sharp minor, 'Sonate Ecossaise' Op 28 - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Weihnachtsbaum S 186 - Franz Liszt
  3. Sonata for Piano No 21 in C, 'Waldstein' Op 53 - Ludwig van Beethoven

Yu Kosuge has built a distinguished career since moving from Japan to Germany in the 1990s. Here she performs two dynamic sonatas by a youthful Mendelssohn and a heroic Beethoven. At the age of 20, Mendelssohn was yet to visit Scotland, but his fantasy sonata captures the sounds of the country’s folk music with a restless energy and a warlike finale. Beethoven’s great Waldstein Sonata has been described as a “symphony masquerading as a sonata”, its broad colours shot through with powerful energy. Contrasting these, Yu shows us the tranquil side of Christmas, with four calming pieces from Liszt’s Christmas Tree suite.

Ticket price includes tea, coffee and cake before or after the concert.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
Yu Kosuge

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.