We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Philharmonia Orchestra with Santtu-Matias Rouvali and Daniil Trifonov

Wednesday May 1, 2024 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11.50 - £39.50
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am-8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in B flat Op 83 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Symphony No 7 in D minor Op 70 - Antonín Dvorák

This concert doubles up on dream combinations. The Philharmonia’s inspirational Finnish Music Director is joined by the ‘most astounding pianist of our age’ (The Times) for a perfect pairing of romantic heavyweights. Grammy Award winning Daniil Trifonov shot to fame after winning the First Prize and Grand Prix at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2011 and has been dazzling audiences worldwide ever since. Brahms’s epic Second Piano Concerto is the perfect showcase for his astonishing artistry. Written twenty years after the troubled birth of his First Piano Concerto, it enjoyed immediate and enduring success, largely due to the perfect balance Brahms achieves between epic scale, muscular virtuosity and its upbeat mood.

A perfectly matched companion piece comes in the form of Dvorák’s tautly dramatic Seventh Symphony, itself inspired by hearing Brahms’s turbulent Third Symphony a few months earlier. Reflecting the political struggles of the Czech nation as well as personal grief, it’s the most compellingly urgent of all his symphonies, the smouldering intensity of its opening catching fire in a thrilling mix of soaring melodies and driving rhythms.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: Dr Joanne Cormac, University of Nottingham, introduces the programme.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.