We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday April 19, 2024 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11.50 - £39.50
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am-8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Prelude, from Khovanshchina - Modest Mussorgsky, completed and orchestrated by Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in A minor Op 77 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique' Op 74 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

This welcome return to Nottingham from the acclaimed Dresden Philharmonic brings with it a trio of powerful and atmospheric Russian classics. The brutal realpolitik of Mussorgsky’s unfinished opera Khovanshchina is barely glimpsed in its deceptively peaceful Prelude, whilst the tension is palpable in Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto of 1948, performed here by the much garlanded Russian-American virtuoso, Maria Ioudenitch. Written in defiance of Stalin’s disapproval – and not actually premiered until after the dictator’s death – this thrilling piece of artistic resistance combines searing expression with a wry sense of humour.

Tchaikovsky described his fateful Sixth Symphony as “the best thing I ever composed or shall compose”, but his untimely end, only days after its premiere, has shrouded it in speculation and added extra poignancy to its hard-driven emotions. Veering from hushed tenderness to explosive power the ‘Pathétique’ remains the ultimate Romantic rollercoaster – even grand opera couldn’t deliver more tears than the symphony’s shattering finale.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: William Ruff introduces the programme.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.