We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Hallé: Sir Mark Elder conducts Bruckner's Eighth Symphony

Friday March 1, 2024 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£11.50 - £39.50
Phone for tickets: 0115 989 5555
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am-8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 8 in C minor - Anton Bruckner

Sir Mark Elder is a master of expansive repertoire: Wagner’s operas, Elgar’s Oratorios, Mahler’s symphonies – they’ve been given countless unforgettable performances by him. This concert offers a rare opportunity, in his final year as the Hallé’s Music Director, to experience him conducting one of the biggest and most thrilling symphonies of them all, Bruckner’s mighty Eighth.

Bruckner was often wracked with self-doubt but the success of his Seventh Symphony in his 60th year emboldened him to embark on his most ambitious symphony. Fellow composer Hugo Wolf praised it as ‘the creation of a giant, surpassing in spiritual dimension and magnitude all the other symphonies of the master’ and when you hear the Eighth live you’ll see what he meant. To the massive organ sonorities for which he was famous, he added the deep roar of a large brass section turbocharged by four Wagner tubas. The result is a uniquely powerful, awe-inspiring sound: the hushed expectancy of the opening setting the scene for an 80 minute journey that delivers thrills at every turn, from unstoppable juggernaut rhythms to great arcs of melody and jaw-dropping climaxes that would overwhelm even Wagner’s gods.

Sir Mark will introduce the symphony from the stage before the performance.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
The Hallé

This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.