We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Bartók, Janácek, Debussy | London Symphony Orchestra

Thursday November 23, 2023 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£70 £55 £39 £25 £18, £12/£16 Wildcard tickets, £6 for under 18s
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 Sz36 - Bela Bartók
  2. Taras Bulba - Leoš Janácek
  3. Poème, for violin and orchestra Op 25 - Ernest Chausson
  4. La mer - Claude Debussy

The course of true love never does run smooth in these four fascinating vignettes.

Bartók dedicated his First Violin Concerto to the famed musician Stefi Geyer, but she refused it, unable to return his adoration. It wasn’t performed until 1956, when listeners discovered an unusual musical portrait of Geyer, exploring Bartók’s dreamy admiration and his crush’s quick wit.

Janácek’s Taras Bulba tells a rousing tale of Cossack warriors, featuring another doomed romance. Lamenting horns and tender oboes introduce a pair of lovers on opposing sides of a battle.

Chausson’s sensuous Poème was inspired by a short story about two men in love with the same woman, while Debussy’s scintillating evocation of the sea was written in the midst of an adulterous affair.

Duncan Ward and the LSO set out to sweep you off your feet in this performance, while Isabelle Faust offers sensitive insights into the music of Bartók.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.