We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Mozart's Requiem | Brighton Festival Chorus and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Sunday July 16, 2023 at 16:00
Cadogan Hall, London
£45, £37.50 and £30; students and under 16s £22.50
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Centuries of Meditations - Dobrinka Tabakova
  2. Suite for String Orchestra - Libby Croad
  3. Let there be Peace - Juliette Pochin
  4. Requiem Mass in D minor K 626 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the Brighton Festival Chorus are delighted to present Mozart's Requiem along with works by contemporary female composers.

Luscious pizzicato and arco lines make up the contrasting layers and textures that characterise Libby Croad's Suite for String Orchestra which was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 for International Women's Day in 2018.

The Grammy-nominated Dobrinka Tabakova is composer-in-residence for the BBC Concert Orchestra. Centuries of Meditations was selected by the PRS Foundation as one of the best pieces of British orchestral music from the past 25 years. Written for Britain's great cathedrals, the work is noted for inviting engaged active listening in an architecturally beautiful environment.

Juliette Pochin and Lemn Sissay collaborated on a new piece for chamber orchestra and youth choir, Let There Be Peace, which was originally commissioned for the 2020 Brighton Festival. Due to the pandemic, it featured as part of the Brighton Festival online that year. This will be its first live performance.

The concert concludes with Mozart's Requiem which was famously completed after his death by his pupil, Franz Xaver Süssmayr. Uniquely for this performance, the Sanctus and Benedictus, thought to be exclusively the work of Süssmayr, will be substituted for movements written by Mozart himself.

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.