We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Schola Cantorum of Oxford with the Raschèr Saxophone Quartet

Saturday June 3, 2023 at 19:30
The University Church of St Mary the Virgin, Oxford
£35, £25, students £5
Phone for tickets: 07766 103427
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Canzona in D minor BWV 588 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Magnificat - Arvo Pärt
  4. Da pacem Domine - Arvo Pärt
  5. 3 Preludes and Fugues Op 16 - Clara Wieck Schumann, arranged for saxophone quartet by Andreas van Zoelen
  6. Warum toben die Heiden Op 78 No 1 - Felix Mendelssohn
  7. Verleih uns Frieden - Felix Mendelssohn, arranged for saxophone quartet by Martina van Lengerich
  8. Richte mich, Gott Op 78 No 2 - Felix Mendelssohn
  9. Singet dem Herrn BWV 225 - Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged for saxophone quartet and choir by Andreas van Zoelen

The Raschèr Saxophone Quartet returns to Oxford for a further collaboration with the University of Oxford's Schola Cantorum, following their memorable and atmospheric contribution to Music at Oxford's 'Arvo Pärt ... and a Littlemore' Festival last November.Since its formation in 1969, the Raschèr Quartet, now based in Freiburg, has appeared regularly at major concert halls in Europe, Asia and the U.S. Andreas van Zoelen’s sensitive adaptations bring an ethereal element to both new and well known works, with voices and saxophones fusing together seamlessly in the acoustic of Oxford's ancient buildings. Schola Cantorum of Oxford is the University's premier chamber choir.

The programme includes JS Bach motets 'Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied' and 'Jesu, meine Freude', together with works by Arvo Pärt, Clara Schumann, and Felix Mendelssohn.

The University Church of St Mary the Virgin
High Street

This advertisement was submitted by Schola Cantorum of Oxford.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.