We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Greenwich Chamber Orchestra with Peter Cigleris (clarinet)

Saturday March 4, 2023 at 19:30
St Alfege Church, Greenwich, London
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 31 in D, 'Paris' K 297 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Concerto for clarinet and orchestra in A K 622 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Concerto for clarinet and orchestra - Ebenezer Prout
  4. Symphony No 99 in E flat - (Franz) Joseph Haydn

The Greenwich Chamber Orchestra was formed in 2019 by David Cutts and is now settling in to giving an autumn and a winter concert in St Alfege Church each year. The orchestra is made up of fine amateur players from London and elsewhere who meet for a few rehearsals for each occasion. The leader is Gonzalo Acosta.

This concert is built from two great symphonies and two clarinet concertos. The concertos are the wonderful concerto by Mozart, K 622, from 1791 and almost his last work, and the unknown and we think hitherto unperformed concerto by Ebenezer Prout, a 19th century composer, scholar and musicologist. There is no date for this work, but its score has been in the library of the Royal Academy of Music, which suggests that it dates from post 1850. This will be its world premiere performance.

The programme also contains two classical masterpieces, each of which is the first of the composers' symphonies to utilise clarinets. To begin the concert we have Mozart's 'Paris' symphony No 31, written in 1778. We will finish with Haydn's 99th Symphony from 1793 one of the twelve 'London Symphonies'.

St Alfege Church, Greenwich
Greenwich Church Street
SE10 9BJ

Peter Cigleris

This advertisement was submitted by London Concert Promotions Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2024 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.