We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Revolution and Romance | Sir Simon Rattle and Evgeny Kissin

Thursday December 15, 2022 at 19:00
Barbican Hall, London
£65 £49 £35 £24 £18
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 23 in A K 488 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Stravinsky Journey - Igor Stravinsky, arranged by Simon Rattle

Two great artists, and the journey of a lifetime: Sir Simon Rattle and Evgeny Kissin explore Mozart and Stravinsky.

When Russia collapsed into revolution, Stravinsky built a new life in the west and embraced the shock of the new. Today, Sir Simon Rattle leads a personal odyssey through some of the composer’s quirkiest miniatures. Simon Rattle loves Stravinsky’s shorter pieces, and his ‘Stravinsky Journey’ is his own way of sharing some rare gems.

Change of programme

Due to a prior illness, Evgeny Kissin has been unable to prepare for Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No 3 ahead of his appearances with the Orchestra and will instead perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 23, K 488. The rest of the programme remains unchanged, however the concerto will now feature in the first half of the concert.

Posted Fri 18 Nov 10.20am

Barbican Hall
Silk Street

This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.