We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday June 16, 2022 at 19:30
Cheltenham Town Hall, Cheltenham
£33.50 £28.50 £17.50 £13.50
Phone for tickets: 01242 528764
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Hebrides Overture Op 26 - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  3. Symphony No 2 in D Op 36 - Ludwig van Beethoven

Three fantastic favourites close the series. First, the overture written after Mendelssohn’s 1829 visit to Fingal’s Cave on the Scottish island of Staffa. Its sweeping, broody theme captures the grandeur of both cave and islands, though he himself referred to it solely as The Hebrides. Another Classic FM hit (Number One five times), Bruch’s most famous work (for which he never received a penny!), follows, complete with its yearning E flat adagio. Beethoven’s second (the first ever to replace minuet with scherzo) was written in his prime, at 31, but is still known as the final work of his ‘early’ period, and, like the first symphony, its obvious 18th century Viennese roots are plain to hear and enjoy.

Pre-concert talk (6.30pm to 7pm): free entry using your ticket for the concert.

Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA

This advertisement was submitted by Megan Cunnington.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.