We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

London Mozart Players | Piano Explored: Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No 2

Wednesday December 1, 2021 at 13:05
St John's Smith Square, London
£20, students £5
Phone for tickets: +44 (0) 20 7222 1061
Phone lines open: Mondays and Thursdays between 2pm and 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F Op 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  2. Symphonic Variations - César Franck

This will be Howard Shelley’s final concert for London Mozart Players' Piano Explored series, and he has chosen a very special concerto that perfectly showcases his stylistic elegance and profound musicality. Shostakovich’s second piano concerto, written as a gift for his son Maxim, is perhaps best-known for its lush slow movement, which recalls the tender, longing themes from Rachmaninoff’s own beloved second piano concerto. But it is also full of jaunty energy and Shostakovich family in-jokes, including an arpeggio passage similar to the finger exercises that fledgling piano students suffer. Howard Shelley and the London Mozart Players will whisk you through an exciting deconstruction followed by a full performance of the work.

As a rich counterbalance, we will also hear César Franck’s rarely performed Symphonic Variations. It has been described as one of the most perfect pieces ever written for piano and orchestra and, like a mini concerto, allows a piano virtuoso to show off their flair as these imaginative and romantic variations unfold.

Howard Shelley’s formidable musical talents will be on display in both these works, and aficionados won’t want to miss Howard’s final Piano Explored lunchtime performance.

St John's Smith Square
Smith Square

This advertisement was submitted by London Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2022 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.