We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

London Mozart Players | Piano Explored: Grieg's Piano Concerto in A minor

Wednesday September 22, 2021 at 13:05
St John's Smith Square, London
£20, Students £5
Phone for tickets: +44 (0) 20 7222 1061
Phone lines open: Mondays and Thursdays between 2pm and 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for piano and orchestra in A minor Op 16 - Edvard Grieg

The eighth and final season of Piano Explored opens with a virtuosic work that showcases the consummate musicianship of London Mozart Players's Conductor Laureate Howard Shelley OBE. Before a full performance of Grieg’s beloved Piano Concerto in A minor, Howard will unravel what makes this exhilarating piece one of today’s most recognised works for piano. Few, if any romantic compositions are as immediately identifiable as the Grieg concerto. The opening timpani roll and massive A minor chords cascading from top to bottom of the keyboard have been featured in countless concerts, films and even comedy sketches (who can forget that Morecambe and Wise classic?). Its relaxed, uncomplicated lyricism shines through in each movement, particularly in the central D flat major romanza, which was perhaps inspired by Grieg’s own romance with his wife Nina.

Howard’s deconstruction of the piece will reveal the influence that Norway’s folk music had on the composer, and may touch on Grieg’s lifelong insecurities, which meant that this, his most famous work, was constantly being revised. The last of these revisions was completed in the final year of Grieg’s life – all the right notes, in the right order.

St John's Smith Square
Smith Square
This advertisement was submitted by London Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.