We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Raw Emotion, Endless Peace | London Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday January 19, 2022 at 19:30
Royal Festival Hall, London
£14 - £65
Phone for tickets: 020 7840 4242
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Kingdom of Silence - Victoria Borisova-Ollas
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 2 in C sharp minor Op 129 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Symphony No 4 in F minor Op 36 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

From the second that its opening fanfares shatter the silence, you can tell that Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony means business. Convinced that Fate itself was out to destroy him, Tchaikovsky poured everything into this overwhelming symphony: a no-holds-barred emotional autobiography, told in music of uncompromising melody and drama. It’s high-voltage stuff, and with the great Christian Tetzlaff as soloist, Shostakovich’s punchy Second Violin Concerto will set the tone in resolute terms. Karina Canellakis begins with a hauntingly beautiful vision of eternity from another very individual Russian voice: Victoria Borisova-Ollas. ‘The dream itself’, she asks – ‘does it ever really end?’

Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
This advertisement was submitted by London Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.