We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert: Mark Simpson and Richard Uttley

Tuesday June 22, 2021 at 13:00
Jerwood Hall, LSO St.Luke's, London
£15 (£13 concessions, £5 under 18s)
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Première rhapsodie, for clarinet and piano - Claude Debussy
  2. Four Duets, for clarinet and piano - Edmund Finnis
  3. Lov(escape), for clarinet and piano - Mark Simpson
  4. Three Broken Love Songs, for clarinet and piano - Gavin Higgins
  5. Grand duo concertante, for clarinet and piano - Carl Maria von Weber

Expect virtuosic fireworks in this lunchtime concert, pairing the voices of the clarinet and piano.

Fresh from dazzling audiences and critics alike with his debut Violin Concerto, musician-composer Mark Simpson takes to the stage as chamber musician, with a programme of pieces that span the nineteenth century to the present day. Alongside works by Debussy and Weber, we'll hear Mark's own composition Lov(escape). Yearning and romantic in parts, erratic and fractured in others, the piece displays the extraordinary capabilities of the clarinet.

Pianist Richard Uttley showcases the breadth of his musicianship and keen musical intelligence in this eclectic programme, from Debussy's lyrical, flowing Rhapsody to the Gavin Higgins's tipsy Three Broken Love Songs.

Jerwood Hall, LSO St.Luke's
161 Old Street
This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.