We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony | 12 ensemble (unconducted string orchestra)

Friday June 25, 2021 at 20:00
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
£25, £18, £12 under 18s £8, full time education £10
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Chamber Symphony (after String Quartet No 8), 'In memory of victims of fascism and war' Op 110b - Dmitry Shostakovich
  2. Lachrimae antiquae, from Lachrimae, or seaven teares - John Dowland
  3. Entr'acte, for string quartet - Caroline Shaw
  4. O Albion, from Arcadiana, for string quartet Op 12 - Thomas Adès

Since its Cambridge Music Festival debut in 2018, the 12 Ensemble has appeared at major venues and festivals worldwide – from the BBC Proms and Wigmore Hall to the exciting new Hamburg Elbphilharmonie – and been nominated for a prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Award.

The Ensemble eschews the trappings of both conductor and chairs, lending their performances a dynamic energy that impresses audiences and critics.

The centrepiece of their return to Cambridge is one of Shostakovich’s best-loved works, the Chamber Symphony (originally his String Quartet No 8). By turns solemn and ferocious, with a darkly sardonic waltz in the third movement, the overall effect can be desolate yet profoundly moving.

The rest of the programme looks back: John Dowland’s ‘Old Tears’ were originally written for a consort of viols; the Pulitzer prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw draws inspiration from Haydn minuets; and Thomas Adès’ hushed and wistful ode to Albion closes the evening.

West Road Concert Hall
11 West Road
12 ensemble
This advertisement was submitted by Cambridge Music Festival 2021.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.