We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Binns Organ Series 2021 | Ben Giddens

Saturday August 14, 2021 at 14:45
The Albert Hall, Nottingham
£6, under 18 free
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fanfare for Organ - John Ernest Cook
  2. Rhapsody on a Ground, for organ - Heathcote Statham
  3. Miniature Suite - John Ireland
  4. Postlude in D minor Op 121 - Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
  5. Prelude and Fugue in A minor BWV 543 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Folk Tune, from 5 Short Pieces - Percy Whitlock
  7. Tuba Tune - Norman Cocker
  8. Master Tallis's Testament - Herbert Howells
  9. Marche Heroique - Sir Alfred Herbert Brewer

Ben Giddens is currently Associate Organist at St Martin in the Fields. He brings us a programme of English romantic music, with a lively dash of Bach to start the second half. Beginning with John Cook’s noble Fanfare, Ben Giddens then takes us to Norwich Cathedral for Heathcote Statham’s Rhapsody on a Ground. There is a Nottingham connection with John Ireland, whose totally tuneful Miniature Suite comes next; he designed the organ now in St Martin’s Sherwood. The Ireland pieces are followed with a rousing and well-known Postlude by Ireland’s fearsome teacher Stanford. Two 'tunes' feature in the second half. Whitlock’s wistful Folk Tune followed by Norman Cocker’s wonderful outing for the loudest stop on the organ, the Tuba. Finally it’s off to Gloucester Cathedral for Herbert Howells’s homage to Tallis, the father of cathedral music, and then from Howells’s teacher Herbert Brewer the rousing Marche Héroïque which made such a fitting finale to the wedding of the Earl and Countess of Wessex.

The Albert Hall
North Circus Street
This advertisement was submitted by Binns Organ Trust.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.