We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Online: Postcards From Vienna | Lotte Betts-Dean(mezzo-soprano)/George Fu(piano)

Thursday January 21, 2021 at 12:00
Available online until
Sunday January 31, 2021
Online, London
£65 (regular tickets), £50 (early booking), £10 (artists), £5 (students)
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Intermezzo in E flat Op 117 No 1 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Um Mitternacht, from 5 Rückert Lieder - Gustav Mahler
  3. Sonata for Keyboard No 59 in E flat Hob XVI:49; L 59 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  4. 6 kleine Klavierstücke Op 19 - Arnold Schoenberg

Postcards From Vienna is like going to four private recitals in four days, all with your very own expert guide, and then coming together (virtually) to talk about it and ask questions. This is an on demand event, available from 24th November. Starting from whichever day you buy your ticket, you will receive exclusive access to one 30-minute episode or 'postcard' each day to watch at a time that suits you. Access will be given in the form of an email, which contains a link and password for each of the four programmes.

This series is designed for anyone who'd like to learn something new about some of the most prominent composers in history. You might know Brahms, Mahler, Haydn and Schoenberg... or you might not. You might be studying music in school, a lifelong classical music lover, or new to classical music. It doesn't matter. All we ask is that you come curious and ready to listen closely. No musical or artistic training is needed, but it certainly won't hurt!

Each episode starts with a talk by British conductor Jonathan Berman, who is known for his jargon-free and cross-artform approach to sharing complex ideas with all audiences. He draws on examples in visual art and sculpture and points out musical details you might not have noticed before. Together, you'll discover nuances that bring the music to life. If you don't have any artistic or musical training, don't worry! It's not needed.

To close, you'll be treated to a recital of the music, up close and in high definition film and sound. The performers are American pianist George Fu and Australian mezzo-soprano Lotte Betts-Dean.

In addition to the 4 episodes, you will be able to book a one-hour live video discussion with Jonathan Berman, the presenter of the series. Jonathan Berman will be the host, and you'll join with the other people taking part in this series. Ask questions, share your observations, or make a request. It's up to you! When you receive your emails with access to the programme, you will also receive details on how to join this video discussion.

Postcards From Vienna is one of a string of projects by Greengage Ventures, all of which stimulate creative innovation in digital arts performances, create paid work for artists during the covid-19 pandemic, and demonstrate the power of the arts to bring people together.

Greengage Ventures does not receive any grant or government funding, and is pursuing a vision of financially-sustainable digital performances built on earned income streams. Box office revenue goes towards recouping production costs so that Greengage can continue making more paid work for more artists. As an online-only company, Greengage has very limited overhead costs. All artists are paid for their work. Postcards From Vienna was filmed at the Austrian Cultural Forum in London in July 2020.

Postcards is open to anybody and we are taking special care to provide easy access to people for whom technology can be challenging. If you have any queries concerning access or the technical aspects of this programme, please contact us at hello@greengageventures.com and we will be delighted to help.

This advertisement was submitted by Greengage Ventures.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.