We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Live from the Barbican: Shabaka Hutchings and Britten Sinfonia

Wednesday November 18, 2020 at 20:00
Available online until
Wednesday November 18, 2020
Barbican Hall, London
£12.50 (watch online), £20 (watch in person)
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Concerto for clarinet, strings and harp - Aaron Copland
  2. 3 Pieces for solo clarinet (1919) - Igor Stravinsky
  3. Appalachian Spring - Aaron Copland

Explore the chameleon-like nature of the clarinet with Shabaka Hutchings and revel in Aaron Copland’s joyful slice of Americana, Appalachian Spring. A central member of the new London jazz scene, clarinettist, saxophonist and composer Hutchings blurs the lines between jazz and classical music in Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, written for the legendary ‘King of Swing’ Benny Goodman. Reflecting further on the jazz idiom, he takes on Igor Stravinsky’s 3 Pieces for solo clarinet, then continues this theme in real time with a short solo clarinet improvisation. Britten Sinfonia will also perform Copland’s musical portrait of 19th century pioneers, which brings together traditional Shaker melodies with his quintessentially American sound in one of classical music’s most-loved pieces.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street
This advertisement was submitted by Barbican Centre.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.