We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

English Chamber Orchestra @ 60: A Tribute to Raymond Leppard

Thursday October 22, 2020 at 20:00
Available online until
Saturday October 31, 2020
Cadogan Hall, London
£30 - £100
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Phone lines open: Monday – Friday 10am-3pm
Other Sources: https://voces8.foundation/englishchamberorchestra-7-oct-20
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. National Anthem - arranged by Raymond Leppard
  2. Tristes apprêts, from Castor et Pollux - Jean-Philippe Rameau
  3. Chiome d'oro, bel thesoro, from Il settimo libro de madrigali SV 117-145 - Claudio Monteverdi
  4. Brandenburg Concerto No 2 in F BWV 1047 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  6. Exsultate, jubilate, for soprano and orchestra K 165 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  7. Greensleeves - Traditional, arranged by James Sherlock
  8. Dido's lament, from Dido and Aeneas Z 626 - Henry Purcell
  9. Pur ti miro, from L'incoronazione di Poppea, 'The Coronation of Poppea' - Claudio Monteverdi

The opening concert of the English Chamber Orchestra’s 60th season celebrates its close association with renowned conductor Raymond Leppard, a champion of early music, who re-established many once-forgotten early operatic masterpieces, and was responsible for a major revival of interest in baroque music, who sadly passed away last year.

The programme celebrates music recorded and performed during their long and fruitful collaboration, including Mozart Exultate Jubilate, Monteverdi Chiomo d‘oro and Pur ti miro (from L’incoronazione di Poppea), and Purcell’s ever-poignant Dido’s Lament (from Dido and Aeneas), performed by award-winning singers soprano Lauren Lodge-Campbell and mezzo-soprano Bethan Horak-Hallet, and JS Bach Brandenburg Concerto No 2 with soloists from the ECO. The concert will also include a performance of Vaughan Williams’s much-loved The Lark Ascending, featuring the orchestra’s leader, Stephanie Gonley.

As we revisit those years, a great friend of the ECO who worked many times with Raymond, legendary British mezzo-soprano Dame Janet Baker, will introduce the programme. The ECO offers in this tribute heartfelt thanks to having known and worked with such an exceptional musician and conductor.

The orchestra are delighted to be performing to a live, socially-distanced audience at the beautiful Cadogan Hall. The programme will be performed without an interval and will last approximately 70 minutes.

If you’re unable to make the concert in person, then you can view the concert live-streamed, as part of Voces8’s ‘Live from London’ series.

Tickets are £15, and the concert can be accessed until the 31st October

This concert which was originally scheduled for 18th May at the Queen Elizabeth Hall.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Harry Winstanley.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.