We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Brahms's Fourth Symphony | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Sunday February 2, 2020 at 19:30
Rose Theatre Kingston, Kingston upon Thames
£18 - £38
Phone for tickets: 020 8174 0090
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from Egmont Op 84 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  3. Hungarian Dance No 6, from 21 Hungarian Dances, for piano 4 hands - Johannes Brahms, orchestrated by Martin Schmeling
  4. Symphony No 4 in E minor Op 98 - Johannes Brahms

The concert opens with the thrilling Overture to Beethoven’s Egmont. The music was written for Goethe’s play about Count Egmont, who tried and failed to overthrow the Duke of Alba, resulting in his execution. Listen out for the final, fateful movement of the sword, which is audibly played out by the violins.

Esteemed soloist Miriam Sonoko Welde takes to the stage for Bruch’s lyrical First Violin Concerto. Welde is famed for her depth of understanding of the piece, which won her the Virtuos Norwegian Broadcasting Competition in 2014.

In the second half of the evening, you are invited to lose yourself in the rich romanticism of Brahms’s Symphony No 4, which showcases the sensuality and depth of sound that the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra are known for.

Rose Theatre Kingston
24-26 High Street
Kingston upon Thames
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.