We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Illuminate Huddersfield - shining a light on the work of women composers

Thursday November 7, 2019 at 13:00
Recital Hall, University of Huddersfield, Huddersfield
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. String Quartet - Ruth Crawford Seeger
  2. Lagrime mie, a che vi trattenete, 'Lamento' Op 7 - Barbara Strozzi
  3. Four Songs, for soprano and string quartet - Vivian Fine
  4. Daybreak, for soprano and string quartet - Rebecca Clarke
  5. Ways of looking at a blackbird - Angela Slater
  6. Juncture, for sting quartet - Blair Boyd
  7. Gradient, for string quartet and soprano - Joanna Ward
  8. things you don't yet know you feel - Sarah Westwood
  9. Ultraviolet, for string quartet and soprano - Caroline Bordignon

For Season II, Illuminate Women's Music is delighted to announce the formation of a new ensemble, the Illuminate String Quartet, who will be performing across the UK with soprano singer Yfat Soul Zisso!

In Season II, Illuminate Women's Music is commissioning new works by six women composers. The composers are Caroline Bordignon, Soul Zisso, Joanna Ward and the Illuminate composers in residence Angela Elizabeth Slater, Sarah Westwood and Blair Boyd. The composers will be collaborating with the performers of the newly formed Illuminate String Quartet and soprano singer Soul Zisso. These new works will be programmed alongside a wealth historical works by composers such as Rebecca Clarke, Barbara Strozzi, and Ruth Crawford Seeger giving a rich context to the strong but neglected tradition of women’s music, and rightly bringing these works as well as new ones to the attention of new audiences across the UK.

Recital Hall, University of Huddersfield
West Yorkshire
This advertisement was submitted by Illuminate.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.