We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Stokey: We need EU! Ret Frem Ensemble perform European contemporary music

Tuesday November 12, 2019 at 19:00
The Old Church, Stoke Newington, London
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Anoubis-Nout, 2 pieces for contrabass clarinet - Gérard Grisey
  2. Une lettre de Vincent, for flute and cello - Tristan Murail
  3. Impromptu No 2, for flute, oboe and clarinet - Thea Musgrave
  4. Die Vorüberlaufenden, for flute, bass clarinet and cello - Isabel Mundry, Brice Pauset
  5. Sequenza VII for oboe - Luciano Berio
  6. Noa Noa - Kaija Saariaho
  7. New work - Frej Wedlund
  8. New work - Will Handysides

Ret Frem Ensemble brings the cutting edge of European music to Stoke Newington. In the 1970s, composers writing at Ircam in Paris pioneered a new technique of composition: 'Spectralism' took the computer analysis of acoustic sounds as its starting point and produced some of the most imaginative and inspiring music of the late 20th century. Forty years on and the international influence of trailblazing composers Gérard Grisey and Tristan Murail is still very much evident.

Stokey: We Need EU! features exciting UK premieres of music by Grisey and Murail, including Grisey's remarkable Anoubis-Nout, a solo for contrabass clarinet. Alongside these works, we programme pieces by international composers inspired by French spectralism, including Kaija Saariaho and Isabel Mundry. We have commissioned new work by young composers Frej Wedlund and Will Handysides and present the premiere performances this November.

We are incredibly grateful for the support we receive to be able to put on our concerts.

The Old Church, Stoke Newington
Stoke Newington Church Street
N16 9ES
This advertisement was submitted by Ret Frem Ensemble.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.