We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Thursday February 6, 2020 at 19:45
The Anvil, Basingstoke
£42, £38, £31, £24, £16; under 25s and full-time students £11 (includes £3 booking fee)
Phone for tickets: 01256 844244
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Symphony No 39 in E flat K 543 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Symphony No 40 in G minor K 550 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter' K 551 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart’s last three symphonies were written in a few weeks in summer 1788, unusually without performances already arranged. They make a satisfying triptych, with the relatively serene no 39 contrasting with the more agitated and unsettled no 40. The final symphony sums up Mozart’s achievement in the form, with a spacious opening movement, an expressive and chromatic slow movement, and one of his most famous minuets. The finale combines fugue and sonata form in a five-part tour de force.

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Association

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244

The Anvil
Churchill Way
RG21 7QR
This advertisement was submitted by Anvil Arts.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.