We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Gusztáv Fenyo (piano) – Beethoven cycle (1/8)

Sunday May 19, 2019 at 15:00
The Cathedral of The Isles, Millport, Isle of Cumbrae
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. Sonata for Piano No 1 in F minor Op 2 No 1 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Sonata for Piano No 2 in A Op 2 No 2 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Sonata for Piano No 3 in C major Op 2 No 3 - Ludwig van Beethoven

Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas span virtually his entire adult career and serve, better than any other category of his output, to give an almost complete view of the evolving nature of his creative life.

In celebration of the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth, Gusztáv Fenyo performs the complete cycle of 32 sonatas in eight recitals spread across 2019 and 2020. The sonatas are presented in chronological order, with the exception of the pair of short, early sonatas, Nos 19 and 20, which are included in Programme 3.

One of Scotland’s leading musicians, Gusztáv Fenyo has been highly praised for his one-composer cycles, beginning in 1990 with two cycles of the Beethoven piano sonatas, at the Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh and the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (now Royal Conservatoire of Scotland). He has also performed complete cycles of Beethoven’s violin-piano sonatas, cello-piano sonatas and piano trios, as well as Chopin’s complete solo piano works, Bach’s ‘Well-Tempered Clavier’ and Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes and Fugues.

The Cathedral of The Isles
College Street
Millport, Isle of Cumbrae
Highlands & Islands
KA28 0HE
This advertisement was submitted by Fenyo Music-Makers .
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.