We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Masterworks Concert 66 | Lisney Trio

Tuesday January 22, 2019 at 19:30
Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham
Phone for tickets: 0844 576 2210
Phone lines open: 10am-5pm
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Sonata for Piano No 9 in B D 575; Op posth 147 - Franz Schubert
  2. 3rd movement: Marche funèbre: Lento, from Sonata for Piano No 2 in B flat minor Op 35 - Fryderyk Chopin
  3. Piano Trio in G minor Op 15 - Bedrich Smetana

The Masterworks debut of the Lisney Trio, in Smetana’s romantic and lyrical opus 15. Written at the age of thirty one (in response to the loss of his daughter Bedriska), it is the first work to show the full force of the composer’s maturity.

Likewise, darkness haunts all four movements of Chopin’s celebrated Sonata Op 35, one of the most powerful and affecting of works in the piano repertoire.

Schubert’s Sonata in B, D 575 provides a suitable prelude to this dramatic programme; a boldly experiment work, shot through with vivacious dance rhythms and bohemian spirit.

Pittville Pump Room
East Approach Drive
GL52 3JE
This advertisement was submitted by F M Wilson.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.