We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Veinnese Whirls of Delight with Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Sunday January 6, 2019 at 14:45
Assembly Hall, Worthing
£19, £25 and £29; students and under 18s from £1
Phone for tickets: 01903 206 206
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. An der schönen, blauen Donau, 'Blue Danube Waltz' Op 314 - Johann Strauss II
  2. Gold and Silver Waltz Op 79 - Franz Lehár
  3. Overture, from Donna Diana - Emil Nikolaus von Reznicek
  4. Accelerations Waltz Op 234 - Johann Strauss II
  5. Radetzky March Op 228 - Johann Strauss I
  6. Rosen aus dem Süden, 'Roses from The South' Op 388 - Johann Strauss II
  7. Fruhlingsstimmen, 'Voices of Spring' Op 410 - Johann Strauss II
  8. Overture, from Dichter und Bauer' (Poet and Peasant) - Franz von Suppé
  9. Tritsch Tratsch Polka Op 214 - Johann Strauss II
  10. Unter Donner und Blitz, 'Thunder and Lightning Polka' Op 324 - Johann Strauss II

An afternoon to revel in the joyous delights of a Viennese New Year in the hands of the Waltz-King himself, Johann Strauss II,as well as other popular Viennese composers, Franz Lehár, Franz von Suppé and Viennese- born Emil von Reznicek whose popular overture 'Donna Diana' opens the concert. Older listeners might recall its use on the BBC Children’s Hour by Stephen King-Hall. Suppé’s overture Poet and Peasant, originally composed for the operetta Dichter und Bauer achieved global popularity after featuring in the 1935 Popeye cartoon The Spinach Overture. Lehár’s sumptuous Gold and Silver Waltz, with its glistening harp figurations, stands on a par with all the concert’s famous Strauss waltzes: Roses from the South, the Beautiful Blue Danube, Voices of Spring and the Accelerations Waltz. Sparkle and fizz abound in the form of popular Polkas and marches including the Thunder and Lightning Polka, Trtsch-Tratsch Polka and Radetzky March.

Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ
This advertisement was submitted by Worthing Symphony Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.