We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Friday November 30, 2018 at 19:00
Sheffield City Hall, Sheffield
£21, £19, £16; students and under 18s £5, subject to booking fees
Phone for tickets: 0114 2789789
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 9am until 8pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from The Bartered Bride - Bedrich Smetana
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in E minor Op 11 - Fryderyk Chopin
  3. Symphony No 9 in E minor, 'From the New World' Op 95 - Antonín Dvorák

Who better to perform two great Czech signature works than the Czech National Symphony Orchestra? The overture Smetana composed for his comic opera The Bartered Bride simply bursts with exuberance and energy and is the perfect opener for any concert. Nikolai Demidenko, long admired by British audiences, is soloist in Chopin’s Concerto; inspired by a love affair, it is both lyrical and virtuosic.

The orchestra returns to its homeland with Dvorák’s 9th symphony, one of the most beloved works in the repertoire. Composed in America, this richly melodic piece absorbed the influence of American folk music but also conveys deep nostalgia for its composer’s homeland.

Sheffield City Hall
Barker's Pool, Balm Green
South Yorkshire
S1 2JA
This advertisement was submitted by Sheffield City Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.