We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Alan Hacker - A Celebration

Sunday September 30, 2018 at 20:00
Winchester Cathedral, Winchester
Phone for tickets: 01962 857275
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Allegro for clarinet and strings in B flat K 516c - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. An Og-Mhadainin - William Sweeney
  3. Dido's lament, from Dido and Aeneas Z 626 - Henry Purcell
  4. Clarinet Quintet movement in F K 580b - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  5. Quintet for clarinet and strings in B minor Op 115 - Johannes Brahms
  6. Death of Ase, from Peer Gynt Suite No 1 - Edvard Grieg
  7. Plainsong - Sir Harrison Birtwistle
  8. Little troika for Marianna - Sir John Tavener

A concert in the Quire of Winchester Cathedral at 8pm on Sunday 30 September will be celebrating the life of Alan Hacker, and raising money for Jessie’s Fund. Alan was a clarinettist and conductor with unusually wide-ranging enthusiasms. He would have been celebrating his 80th birthday on this day. Family, friends and colleagues have come together to offer this tribute to his life and work, through music that represents some of his significant repertoire.

The clarinettists in this concert all studied with Alan and were enormously influenced by his searching approach to performance. His partnership with The Fitzwilliam Quartet began in 1974 and lasted for over 15 years during which time they performed both the Mozart and Brahms quintets. Katy Hacker Hughes (soprano) and Sophie Hacker (clarinet), Alan’s daughters, are participating in this concert as a tribute to their father.

This concert will include two world premières by extremely eminent composers: ‘Plainsong’, a new piece composed in memory of Alan Hacker by Sir Harrison Birtwistle, and ‘Troika for Marianna’ by Sir John Tavener.

Winchester Cathedral
The Close
SO23 9LS
This advertisement was submitted by Fitzwilliam Quartet.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.