We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Nicola Benedetti with Worthing Symphony Orchestra

Sunday September 2, 2018 at 14:45
Assembly Hall, Worthing
£19, £25 and £29; students and under 16s £1, £6, £10
Phone for tickets: 01903 206 206
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Froissart Op 19 - Sir Edward Elgar
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 2 in G minor Op 63 - Sergey Prokofiev
  3. In the Steppes of Central Asia - Alexander Borodin
  4. Symphony No 4 - William Alwyn

International superstar violinist Nicola Benedetti returns to Worthing – this time with the deeply romantic 2nd violin concerto by Rusisan master Serge Prokofiev. Well known for such works as Peter and the Wolf, Romeo and Juliet and the Classical Symphony, the Violin Concerto in G minor is rightly acknowledged as one of the great concertos of the twentieth century. The concert also includes Borodin’s mesmeric orchestral depiction In the Steppes of Central Asia, Elgar’s gloriously ebullient overture Froissart and the profoundly uplifting Fourth Symphony by British composer William Alwyn. This work, premiered by the Halle Orchestra under Sir John Barbirolli in 1959, is a work packed full of energy, beautiful melody and romantic harmony that builds over the course of its length to a glorious climax, brilliantly orchestrated by a composer well-versed in the cinematic sound world.

Assembly Hall
Stoke Abbott Road
West Sussex
BN11 1HQ
This advertisement was submitted by Worthing Symphony Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.