We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No 1 - Cambridge University Sinfonia

Saturday October 27, 2018 at 20:00
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
£20, £14, £10; concessions: £18, £12, £8; students and under 18s: £5
Phone for tickets: 01223 300085
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday: 1pm - 7pm
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Poem No 1, for orchestra - Galina Ustvolskaya
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in A minor Op 77 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  3. Excerpts, from Cinderella - Sergey Prokofiev

Cambridge University Sinfonia’s season opens with a bang, with a concert full of Russian music that’s dramatic in more ways than one. Ustvolskaya’s extreme dynamics and brass-heavy orchestration led her to be known as “the woman with the hammer” – we think you will agree!

We are excited to be joined by conductor Holly Mathieson, who brings to the stage Cambridge University Musical Society Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner James Jones (violin) in Shostakovich’s sublime Violin Concerto No 1. Mathieson is currently Assistant Conductor at the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Resident Conductor of the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland Junior Orchestra and Artistic Director of Rata Music Collective as well as Co-Artistic Director of the Nevis Ensemble. Her passion and clarity are a natural fit for this concert.

Shostakovich’s 'Shakespearean' violin, who references Elgar, Beethoven, Stravinsky, and Shostakovich’s own DSCH during the course of the concerto, is followed by excerpts from the jubilant and comic ballet Cinderella by Prokofiev, including Cinderella’s beautiful fairy tale waltz.

West Road Concert Hall
11 West Road
This advertisement was submitted by Cambridge University Musical Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.