We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Songs of the Mediterranean

Sunday September 30, 2018 at 16:00
Leatherhead Methodist Church, Leatherhead
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. La conocchia, from Nuits d'été à Pausilippe - Gaetano Donizetti
  2. A mezzanotte, from Nuits d'été à Pausilippe - Gaetano Donizetti
  3. Fiocca la neve - Pietro Cimara
  4. Notte, from 6 Liriche, Series 2 - Ottorino Respighi
  5. Nebbie, 'Fog' P 64 - Ottorino Respighi
  6. Venise: Rêverie-barcarolle, from 2 Esquisses italien - Teresa Carreño
  7. 7 canciones populares españolas - Manuel de Falla
  8. 5 mélodies 'de Venise' Op 58 - Gabriel Fauré
    • Mandoline
    • En sourdine
    • Green
  9. Les roses d'Ispahan, from 4 Songs Op 39 - Gabriel Fauré
  10. Excerpts, from 12 danzas españolas, for piano Op 37 - Enrique Granados
  11. Canciones clásicas españolas Vol 1 - Fernando J Obradors

A lovely programme of tuneful songs and piano pieces, this collection is inspired by the colour and sparkle of Mediterranean life. From Italy we have some bel canto songs by Donizetti and Respighi and some of Faure's Cinq melodies 'de Venise'. From Spain, unusual but delightful songs by Manuel de Falla and Fernando Obradors, both of which are full of vibrant colour and energy. Piano pieces by Enrique Granados and Teresa Carreño complete the programme.

Alice and Simon have been working together for several years and are now frequently on the concert platform together. Their ever-growing repertoire ranges from 16th century to contemporary music and they like to explore unusual repertoire often including forgotten gems and music by little known composers as well as more familiar treasures of the repertoire. They often arrange their programmes around themes which gives continuity and purpose to their concerts. As a result of some of these explorations, last year they recorded a CD of songs by Respighi and others, including premiere recordings of works by James Francis Brown, Peter Fribbins and Kerry Woodward.

Entry is free with a retiring collection.

Leatherhead Methodist Church
Church Road
KT22 8AY
This advertisement was submitted by Alice Bishop.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.