We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Mariam Batsashvili performs Liszt | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday November 30, 2018 at 19:30
Cambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge
from £17 - £42
Phone for tickets: 01223 357851
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Dances of Galánta - Zoltán Kodály
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in E Flat S124 - Franz Liszt
  3. Symphony No 4 in F minor Op 36 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

In 2014 Mariam Batsashvili became the first female in history to win the International Franz Liszt Piano Competition and it’s the dazzling virtuosity of Liszt’s glittering first concerto that she brings to this concert.

The RPO’s Principal Associate Conductor Alexander Shelley opens the concert with Kodály’s five-movement suite, full of Hungarian folk tunes and robust rhythms. The performance climaxes with Tchaikovsky’s anguished Symphony No 4, written during a time of turbulence for the composer, its warring emotions veering from fateful fanfares to poignant melancholy, before hurtling through a whirlwind finale.

Cambridge Corn Exchange
Wheeler Street
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.