We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Musical Landscapes | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday March 7, 2019 at 19:30
The Hawth, Crawley
Phone for tickets: 01293 553636
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Karelia Suite Op 11 - Jean Sibelius
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 3 in G, 'Strassburg' K 216 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  4. Variations on an original theme, 'Enigma' Op 36 - Sir Edward Elgar

Sibelius’s evocative Karelia Suite opens this concert. Filled with upbeat, catchy melodies as well as moments of quiet contemplation, this stunning work sets a wonderful tone for the evening.

Next, the esteemed Jennifer Pike performs Mozart’s exquisite and intimate Third Violin Concerto followed by Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending, with its lyrical violin line soaring to the heavens. Voted the nation’s favourite piece by Classic FM listeners a staggering eight times, this portrait of a bird taking flight is a firm favourite of audiences everywhere. Elgar’s ever popular and quintessentially English ‘Enigma’ Variations provides a fantastic finish to this performance. A landmark piece not just for Elgar, but for British music.

The Hawth
Hawth Avenue
West Sussex
RH10 6YZ
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.