We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Zukerman presents Beethoven | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday March 27, 2019 at 19:30
Cambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge
£17 - £42
Phone for tickets: 01223 357851
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  2. Symphony No 36 in C, 'Linz' K425 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 61 - Ludwig van Beethoven

Legendary violinist and conductor Pinchas Zukerman joins the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for this richly varied programme, opening with Vaughan Williams’s sublime Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Talli, whose visionary use of a triple string orchestra and was inspired by the atmospheric acoustics of Gloucester Cathedral.

Mozart’s poised Symphony No 36, which took its name from the city in which it was premiered, shows the composer at his most imaginative, all the more remarkable given that he wrote it in just four days. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto took him rather longer and its lack of showy virtuosity meant that it had to wait several years before it earned its place in the repertoire, but there’s now no doubting the stature of this symphonically-scaled masterpiece.

“Zukerman again seemed the forever-young virtuoso: expressively resourceful, infectiously musical, technically impeccable, effortless. As usual, it was a joy to be in his musical company.” LA Times

Cambridge Corn Exchange
Wheeler Street
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.