We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Gesualdo Six - Passion and Polyphony

Thursday March 7, 2019 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£31, £27, £23, £19
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Phone lines open: Monday - Saturday 10am - 6pm
Other Sources: Cadogan Hall box office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Te lucis ante terminum I (festal tone) - Thomas Tallis
  2. Miserere mihi, Domine - William Byrd
  3. The Wishing Tree - Joby Talbot
  4. Lase kiik kaia - Veljo Tormis
  5. 3 movements, from Tenebrae Responsories - Carlo Gesualdo
  6. 3 movements, from Nonsense Madrigals - György Ligeti
  7. Potrò viver io più se senza luce - Luca Marenzio
  8. Ave Verum, diminuzioni su 'Io son ferito, ahi lasso' di Giovanni Battista Bovicelli - Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
  9. My heart is like a singing bird - Sarah Rimkus
  10. Phos hilaron - Owain Park
  11. Petites Voix - Francis Poulenc
  12. Folksongs from the British Isles - Traditional

Exploring a relationship between old and new, sacred and secular, our programme juxtaposes Tallis with Talbot and Tormis in an exhibition of some of the finest consort works from renaissance and modern-day composers.

Ligeti’s astonishing Nonsense Madrigals are set against the equally astounding harmonic language of Carlo Gesualdo, picking up one movement from each of his three settings of Tenebrae Responsories for Holy Week.

The winning compositions of The Gesualdo Six’s second composition competition will be premiered as part of the performance:
Alison Willis: The Wind’s Warning
Jacob Beranek: Abendgebet

Part of Choral at Cadogan 2018-19

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Cadogan Hall Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.