We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Music in the Round Autumn Series - Ensemble 360

Tuesday November 6, 2018 at 12:45
Firth Hall, University of Sheffield, Sheffield
£14; £10 disabled and unemployed; £5 under 35s and students
Phone for tickets: 0114 2496000
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday; 10am to 8pm
Other Sources: Crucible Theatres Box Office, Monday to Saturday; 10am to 8pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sonata for violin and piano No 1 in A minor Op 105 - Robert Schumann
  2. Trio for horn, violin and piano in E flat Op 40 - Johannes Brahms

Schumann’s first two violin sonatas were written in 1851, the same year as his popular third symphony, the Rhenish. His clear intent in the A minor sonata was to prioritise the lyricism and expressivity that is characteristic of his chamber pieces from this period. Brahms’s Horn Trio was composed on a summer visit to the Black Forest region in 1865. In this majestic work, and perhaps inspired by his surroundings, Brahms stated a preference for using an old-fashioned Waldhorn (forest horn) for its characteristic mellow, rounded tone.

Firth Hall, University of Sheffield
Western Bank
South Yorkshire
S10 2TN
This advertisement was submitted by Music in the Round.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.