We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

York Guildhall Orchestra - Wagner, Grondahl, Stravinsky

Saturday May 18, 2019 at 19:30
York Barbican, York
£25.30, £21.95 and £17.45; reductions for senior citizens; children under 16 and students in full time education £6.20
Phone for tickets: 0844 854 2757
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday: 10am till 2pm
Other Sources: orchestra members
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Ride of the Valkyries, from Der Ring des Nibelungen: Part 2, 'Die Walküre' - Richard Wagner
  2. Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra - Launy Grondahl
  3. Tanzlied des Pierrots, from Die tote Stadt Op 12 - Erich Korngold
  4. The Bluebells of Scotland - Traditional Scottish, arranged by Arthur Pryor
  5. The Rite of Spring, 'Le sacre du printemps' - Igor Stravinsky

It will be a great pleasure to welcome back Ian Bousfield to perform with us again after his triumph last season. This time it is the glorious, but little known concerto by Grondahl. Ian will also play a couple of other lollipops, including (by popular demand) the astonishing arrangement of The Bluebells of Scotland arranged by Arthur Prior (orchetsrated by our Music Director, Simon Wright).

The concert finishes with one of the more difficult pieces in the orchestral repertoire, the fantastic Rite of Spring by Stravinsky.

York Barbican
Barbican Road
North Yorkshire
YO10 4AH
This advertisement was submitted by York Guildhall Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.