We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

The Orchestra of Opera North: Highlands of Home

Thursday September 20, 2018 at 19:30
Huddersfield Town Hall, Huddersfield
£13, £15, £20, £27 (concessions available); ages 17 to 29: £4; ages 16 and under: £1
Phone for tickets: 01484 225755
Phone lines open: Monday - Friday: 9am to 5pm
Other Sources: Opera North Box Office
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. 4 Scottish Dances Op 59 - Sir Malcolm Arnold
  2. Marche écossaise sur un thème populaire - Claude Debussy
  3. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 26 - Max Bruch
  4. Symphony No 3 in A minor, 'Scottish' Op 56 - Felix Mendelssohn
  5. Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland

Conductor Garry Walker opens the Kirklees Concert Season with a programme inspired by his homeland. Featuring a melody from Robert Burns and a clever imitation of bagpipes, Malcolm Arnold’s Four Scottish Dances are followed by Debussy’s dramatic Marche écossaise and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No 3, inspired by a twilight visit to the ruins of Holyrood Chapel.

Having closed the 2016-17 season with a stunning performance of Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy, violinist Jack Liebeck returns as soloist on the composer’s first violin concerto, one of the best-loved works in the classical repertoire.

Huddersfield Town Hall
Ramsden Street
West Yorkshire
This advertisement was submitted by Opera North Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.