We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Rhapsody of the Firebird: Southampton University Symphony Orchestra

Saturday June 9, 2018 at 19:00
Central Hall, Southampton
£12, £10, £5
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Academic Festival Overture Op 80 - Johannes Brahms
  2. Rhapsody of Chaos - Alga Mau
  3. Concerto in 1 Movement, for oboe and orchestra Op 45 - Sir Eugène Goossens
  4. Hungarian Rhapsody No 2 in D minor S 359 No 4 - Franz Liszt
  5. The Firebird Suite (1919) - Igor Stravinsky

Welcome to Rhapsody of the Firebird, the finale of Southampton University Symphony Orchestra's 2017/18 season. To round off its 98th year, Southampton University Symphony Orchestra will be performing five pieces which perfectly showcase the talent of musicians within the University.

Beginning the programme with Brahms’s ever-loved Academic Festival Overture, Southampton University Symphony Orchestra is setting you up for a sensational finale!

Rhapsody of Chaos is a world-premiere piece by Southampton University Symphony Orchestra's composer-in-residence, Alga Mau. As he reflects on his time with the orchestra, he transports the audience on a musical journey of excerpts from just some of the pieces the orchestra has performed over the last four years. Including Borodin’s Second Symphony, Enescu’s Romanian Rhapsody and Mahler’s Sixth Symphony, Alga’s skill with composition and arrangement is to be marvelled as he combines seemingly incompatible pieces and turns them into his very own work-of-art. See how many pieces you can recognise!

Following on from this, Goossen’s Oboe Concerto provides complete contrast to Mau’s varying musical styles. Henrietta Cooke’s virtuosic playing recalls the perfect image of British summer time.

Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody No.2 encompasses the best of folk music from eastern Europe. However, it is more well-known from its frequent use in the Tom and Jerry cartoon sketches by Hanna and Barbera.

Known as one of the most notoriously difficult pieces in popular orchestral music, Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite is the definition of a masterpiece. Featuring an iconic french horn solo, the technical skill required for each player is something to marvel. The Firebird carries the audience above the clouds, through the sky into a magnificent climax.

Central Hall
St Mary Street
SO14 1NF
This advertisement was submitted by Southampton University Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.