We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Seeker of Truth | Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic

Saturday June 9, 2018 at 19:30
Holywell Music Room, Oxford
Phone for tickets: 01865 980 980
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 6pm
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Quartet for piano and strings No 1 in C minor Op 15 - Gabriel Fauré
  2. Prelude 'Le jardin à Giverny' - Piet Swerts
  3. Seeker of Truth - A piano fantasy - Piet Swerts
  4. Cinq préludes à la mémoire de Frédéric Chopin - Piet Swerts
  5. Dix valses énigmatiques - Piet Swerts

Internationally acclaimed American pianist Russell Hirshfield is recognised as a leading exponent of piano music by 20th century composers Messiaen and Ligeti - both of whom saw music as a medium to transcend the confines of this world and offer a glimpse of the eternal. These composers were major influences on contemporary Belgian composer Piet Swerts (b 1960) who was commissioned by Hirshfield to write Dix Valses Enigmatiques. The first piano quartet of Gabriel Fauré was written in 1883 and has a refreshing modernity and musical language that is unmistakably French.

Holywell Music Room
Holywell Street
This advertisement was submitted by Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra .
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.