We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Surrey Mozart Players - end of season concert

Saturday June 23, 2018 at 19:30
Holy Trinity Church, Guildford
£19; 21s and under £5; family ticket - 2 adults + 2 children (ie under 21s) £40
Phone for tickets: 01483 444334
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday: 9.30am to 5pm
Other Sources: members of the orchestra
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, 'The Mastersingers of Nuremburg' - Richard Wagner
  2. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra - Sir William Walton
  3. Symphony No 8 in G Op 88 - Antonín Dvorák

Join the excellent Surrey Mozart Players for three musical masterpieces with beautiful melodies, reflective moments and joyous Bohemian dance themes which are sure to sound superb in the wonderful acoustics of Guildford’s Holy Trinity Church.
The concert begins with the magnificent Prelude to Wagner’s Die Meistersinger. Introducing four of the opera’s most important themes, this is an exciting and imposing orchestral work. We welcome back virtuoso, American cellist Parry Karp to perform Walton’s exotic and hauntingly beautiful Cello Concerto, evoking the English countryside and perfect for a summer evening.
The pastoral theme continues in the second half of the concert with Dvorák's charming and energetic 8th Symphony. At this concert we say ‘farewell’ to our Musical Director of 12 years, maestro Kenneth Woods. Many Guildford concert-goers will have enjoyed Ken’s talks and exciting interpretations of a wide variety of works during his very productive collaboration with the orchestra. Don’t miss out on this last opportunity to see him conducting the Surrey Mozart Players.

Holy Trinity Church
High Street
Kenneth Woods
This advertisement was submitted by Surrey Mozart Players.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2021 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.