We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Tring Chamber Music 2018 - Last of the Summer

Saturday September 15, 2018 at 19:30
Hastoe Village Hall, Hastoe, Tring
£17, concessions: £15, under 18s: free
Phone for tickets: 01442 822732
Phone lines open: 09.00-22.00
Other Sources: by post: TCM 1 Pendley Bridge Cottages, Tring Station, Tring , Herts HP23 5QU
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for piano and orchestra in D, arranged for piano and string quartet Hob XVIII/2 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  2. Prelude in memoriam Dmitri Shostakovich, for violin and tape - Alfred Schnittke
  3. Unfinished Fugue, from The Art of Fugue BWV 1080 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Quintet for Piano and Strings in A Minor Op 84 - Dmitry Shostakovich

Howard Shelley returns to Tring with a concerto for keyboard by Haydn which reveals the composer at his most highly spirited; a characteristically graceful slow movement is encased by dazzlingly buoyant fast movements, especially the final Rondo, ‘ in the Hungarian style’. In the Prelude for solo violin, Schnittke intentionally confuses both the musical monograms of Shostakovich (DSCH) and of Bach (BACH) thus signifying their enormous effect on musical history. Bach’s own use of his own name forms a powerful, poignant and somewhat enigmatic role in the last, unfinished fugue from the ‘Art of Fugue’. These surprising bedfellows point directly to Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet, a twentieth century masterpiece (and one of his most frequently played works). The Russian master opens with his own terse prelude and fugue. Proceeding through movements of elation, ecstasy and optimism, it is piece of music which is both beautifully balanced, and deeply satisfying.

Hastoe Village Hall
Church Lane
Hastoe, Tring
HP23 6LU
This advertisement was submitted by Paul Barritt.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.