We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Berkeley Ensemble - Cheltenham Music Festival

Saturday July 14, 2018 at 11:00
Pittville Pump Room, Cheltenham
£26, £21, £15
Phone for tickets: 01242 850270
Phone lines open: Tuesday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Introduction and Allegro, for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartert - Maurice Ravel
  2. Sonata for flute, viola and harp L 137 - Claude Debussy
  3. Chansons madécasses - Maurice Ravel
  4. Trois chansons de Bilitis - Claude Debussy
  5. The singing bone, for mezzo-soprano and ensemble - Kenneth Hesketh
  6. Les soirs illuminées par l'ardeur du charbon - Claude Debussy, arranged by Kenneth Hesketh
  7. Deux arabesques - Claude Debussy, arranged by Kenneth Hesketh
  8. Nocturne for quintet - Michael Berkeley

A welcome return to Cheltenham Music Festival for the Berkeley Ensemble, named for father and son Lennox and Michael Berkeley, the latter a previous Festival Artistic Director whose music closes the programme. They are joined by radiant soprano Katherine Broderick for chamber works by Debussy and Ravel, which paint canvases of intimate seduction. Kenneth Hesketh invites us into the woods of a darker sound-world with his setting of a Brothers Grimm tale, shortly followed by world premieres of Hesketh’s Debussy arrangements (Cheltenham Music Festival commissions).

Pittville Pump Room
East Approach Drive
GL52 3JE
This advertisement was submitted by Cheltenham Festivals.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.