We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Purcell from the ground up: The Lamenting Fourth

Saturday April 7, 2018 at 19:00
Wigmore Hall, London
£15-£35, £5 for under 35s
Phone for tickets: 020 7935 2141
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. When I am laid in earth, from Dido and Aeneas Z 626 - Henry Purcell
  2. L'enharmonique, from Nouvelles suites de pièces de clavecin - Jean-Philippe Rameau
  3. The Staircase Overture Z 614 - Henry Purcell
  4. Lamento d'Arianna SV 22 - Claudio Monteverdi
  5. Sonata for Piano Op 1 - Alban Berg
  6. Metamorphosen - Richard Strauss, arranged for string septet by Rudolf Leopold

For the past four hundred years the descending bass line constructed from a perfect fourth has provided the harmonic structure for the ‘lament’. Exploring this particular musical interval, we question whether consolation can be found in the rising fourths of Berg’s Op 1 and Strauss’s Metamorphosen.

Henry Purcell and his inimitable ground basses are the creative spark for a weekend of imaginative programmes directed by Hugo Ticciati at Wigmore Hall on 7th and 8th April 2018.

Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore Street
This advertisement was submitted by O/MODERNT.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.