We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Vivaldi's Four Seasons by candlelight | London Concertante

Saturday September 22, 2018 at 20:00
St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin
from €28
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Divertimento for Strings No 1 in D, 'Salzburg Symphony No 1' K 136 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Serenade for Strings in E minor Op 20 - Sir Edward Elgar
  3. Concerto for 2 violins and strings in D minor BWV 1043 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Le quattro stagioni, 'The Four Seasons' Op 8 - Antonio Vivaldi

Presenting a programme of music from across the eras of classical music, London Concertante’s concert of works by Bach, Elgar, Mozart and Vivaldi, promises to be a magical exploration of the genre!

The UK based chamber orchestra, London Concertante, regularly perform up to and over one hundred concerts per year, making it the busiest ensemble of its kind in the country. Regularly selling out venues such as St. Martin-in-the-Fields and Southwark Cathedral, the ensemble performs in some of the most prestigious venues around Britain and abroad, with recent tours taking them to USA, Finland, Germany, Holland, Ireland, Spain and France. With their numerous recordings reaching great critical acclaim, the ensemble is continually regarded as one of the finest groups in Europe since their founding in 1991.

The Serenade for Strings is one of the earlier works of the highly decorated English composer, Sir Edward Elgar. Despite being written at an early age; the work displays Elgar’s developing skill and moments of great musical maturity. Although many will recognise the opening bars of the first movement, the second, slow movement is of particularly sublime composition, featuring a stereotypically pastoral opening through a stunningly indulgent melody and accompaniment that will transport you straight out of London and deep into the heart of the countryside. Joined by Mozart’s delightful, yet compact, three movement Divertimento in D, with a charming opening movement and an energetic, exciting and brilliant finale. This particular work is remarked for its expert inventiveness and virtuosic demands. The equally virtuosic Concerto for 2 Violins by Bach, features an audience favourite sublime slow movement, before putting its dexterous demands on full display as the pair of violins battle for solo supremacy in a dazzling final movement. The evening is completed by Vivaldi’s iconic Four Seasons, full of glistening melodies, enthralling instrumental interplay, and aggressive rhythms. This is one concert you do not want to miss!

If you don’t consider yourself ‘in the know’ about Mozart, Beethoven, or Bach, fear not, this is the orchestra for you. The London Concertante boasts an impressive audience record in which an impressive 50% of spectators are first time classical concert goers! The London Concertante has its audience laughing at jokes, gasping at virtuosity, moved by gorgeous string playing, and leaving with a smile on their faces.

“Beautifully played and so enchanting, I fell in love as soon as I heard them play”
- a happy audience member (September 2017)

“Thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful music and comedy undertones… Would highly recommend to all…!”
- another happy audience member (November 2017)

“To be relished … they let the music show the full breadth of its textures … all the light and shade you could wish.”
- Financial Times

St Patrick's Cathedral
St Patrick's Close
County Dublin
DZ08 H6X3
This advertisement was submitted by London Concertante.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.